The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The advertising director argues Super Screen Movie Production Company should allocate a greater share of its budget to advertising as it would enable the firm to reach a greater audience. He/she cites the fact that fewer people watched their movies this past year than in any other year. Morever, his/her recommendation is also based on the greater percentage of positive movie reviews. While the recommendation may seem promising, it is currently a dicey one as the argument it is based on has failed to address four vital questions.

Firstly, in order to assess the viability of the recommendation, one must ask if the advertising director is an unbiased source to rely upon. That is, there may be several motivating factors that have contributed to his current recommendation. For instance, perhaps the director is advancing this recommendation because he/she can increase his income if it were to be implemented. Similarly, the potential increase in his and his department’s status in the firm may also be a pressing motivation. Should any of these reasons hold true, then implementing the recommendation may not be in the firm’s best interests.

Secondly, the question of trustworthiness also applies to the movie reviewers. While the director assumes we can trust them to be honest and unbiased sources of their films’ quality, this is yet to be proven. For example, they may have published positive reviews because they were paid to do so from the company. Even if there was no financial incentive, it is still possible the reviewers have a bias to this production company. This may stem from several factors, ranging from the kind of films the company produces to the people employed in this production. Thus, given that it is not possible to assess the movie reviewers’ credibility, the director’s argument and thus recommendation are flawed.

Furthermore, even if the reviewers are trustworthy sources, is there a clear link between the movie reviews and the films’ quality and popularity? With regard to the quality aspect, it is clear that the author assumes film quality is derived from film reviews. Yet, this is a limited assessment. For example, perhaps Oscar-level film-makers may completely disagree with these reviews. Hence, it is crucial to widen the criteria used to assess film quality. Moreover, even if we assume reviews are accurate measures of film quality, this does not resolve the question regarding their popularity. Yet, this is a vital aspect to a film’s success. For instance, it is possible that the critics highly venerate the company’s movies, but the public detests them. Should such a situation occur, then it is likely the company will not be financially viable for long.

Fourthly, will increasing the advertising budget lead to the desired result of reaching a larger audience? As can be expected, the director assumes this can only be achieved through his/her department’s work. Yet, it may not necessarily be true if there are other issues that are preventing this from happening. For instance, perhaps people are mostly interested in thrillers and sci-fi films, yet the the firm is only producing romantic-comedies. Similarly, perhaps the company’s films lack original scripts which may be crucial to attracting large audiences. Given that these possible scenarios cannot be ruled, it is not clear if implementing the recommendation would be enough to achieve the desired result.

In conclusion, the director’s argument as it stands now is flawed as it does not elucidate on four vital questions. As a consequence, implementing the recommendation is not a sage decision. However, if the director can provide lucid evidence that supports his position on these four areas, then his/her argument will have more merit than it currently holds.