The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Super Screen Movie Production Company claims that the company should allocate greater amount of budget used in advertising in order to increase public awareness of the good quality movies, and suggests several reasons that seem to uphold the author's claim. However, the memo is rife with holes and assumptions and should be eliminated in order for the author's claim to be warranted. Such flaws would be discussed with further details below.

First of all, the author reasons that fewer people attended the Super Screen-produced movies last year which indicates public's lack of awareness. However, there could be other reasons besides lack of awareness that could lead to less people attending the movies. Maybe World cup, which is a celebrated soccer competition and is only held once in several years, was held last year which is much more enticing for the people than movies. Or maybe, there were fewer movies produce by Super Screen, so even though the same amount of people attended for each movie, the total number of attendance seems like it decreased. Besides the two possible reasons mentioned in the paragraph, there could be multiple of other reasons for the cause of fewer people attending the movies.

Furthermore, most of the movies are available online on platforms such as Netflix or Watcha. In circumstances such as now, where many people could have the possibility of getting infected by Covid-19, it would be lethal to attend the movies offline. As an alternative, majority of the people could have decided to watch the movies online, which could seem like fewer people have attended, and are still aware of the good quality of the movies produce from Super Screen. If this is the case the advertising director is making a haste assumption that the public is less aware of the good quality movies compared to other prior years.

Last but not least, the author of the memo assumes that the quality of the movie must be great because more positive reviews were provided than before. However, exactly how many more reviews were positive compared to prior years? If there were only one or two reviews of increase, then the amount would be negligible enough. Also, he/she needs to investigate thoroughly of the ratio of the number of positive reviews and the number of movies produced. Even if the amount of positive reviews increased, if more movies were produced, it may not neccessarily indicate that the movies have good quality. Moreover, there is possibility that the movie reviewers were venal and Super Screen actually paid for them to provide positive reviews regardless of their real judgements.

To sum up, even though the advertising director's claim of having to increase the budget in advertising seems plausible, through thorough investigation and reading the memo from various points of view, it is confirmed that the claim is not maintained with warrant. The author of the memo would have to eliminate the flaws of making haste assumptions and lacking of thorough investigation in order to bolster his assertion.