The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument stated is taken up from a memorandum issued by the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production company. In the memo, the director states that the company should concentrate more on advertising the positive reviews from movie reviewers to attract the attention of the people which has declined over the past year. While the argument stated by the director seems reasonable at a bare glance, upon careful consideration a number of unwarranted assumptions and holes is found rendering the argument facile and not cogent.

The advertising director stated that according to a report from the marketing department of the company, fewer people have attended movies produced by Super Screen. He/She also states that the movie reviewers rated the movies more positively in the same period. With these evidences in mind, the director assumes that the reviews are not reaching their prospective viewers and thus a greater share of the company's budget be allocated to advertising these reviews. The author's assumption is flagrant here as he does not provide any reports to assume the lack of reachability to viewers. The decline in attendance of Super Screen produced movies might be completely unrelated. There are possibilites that the economy of the country or the world is unstable and is on the decline over the past year. This might be causing people to consider movie going to be a unnecessary luxury to indulge in. It might also be possible that a deadly disease on the loose and the people are taking extra precaution to avoid movie theatres. The director seems completely ignorant of these possibilities and thus, doesn't provide any statistics to defend these.

Secondly, it might be possible that the movies produced might be popular among the reviewers' circle whereas doesn't appeal to the taste of the general public. The genre on focus could've shifted from previously popular movies, which might be a change that the critics would appreciate but not so much by the viewers targeted by the company. As a result, the fewer people might be watching the movies in spite of reading the positive reviews. Thus, redirecting the budget to advertisement department from spending it to improve the quality of the movies is completely unwarranted. Ignoring the improvement of quality of the movies might lead to a greater decline with more losses for the company to endure.

Hence, with the above possibilites as evidence, it can be concluded that the argument put forth by the advertising director is facile and hastily jumps to an improper conclusion on the basis of unwarranted assumptions. The argument could have been strengthened by taking a poll directly on the intended audience requesting reason for their absence in the company's newly released movies. A survey on what the audience wish to see on the movie screens could have also helped the director's case.