The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The presented argument seems relatively sound at the first glance; a greater number of positive reviews, while lesser number of movie attendees might suggest that people are not aware of the good movies being screened, and hence advertising might sound like a good promotional strategy. However, under closer inspection, it is quite clear that the argument is rather unconvincing; given the obvious fallacies

presented over here.

Firstly, the argument claims that fewer negative reviews among the fewer number of attendees indicate that the movies are of good qualities. This claim is quite fallacious as it is possible that the attendees only consisted of those reviewers with positive responses. Hence, such reviewers cannot be accepted as a true representative of the movie attendees. Their positive responses might not sincerely represent the actual responses of the masses. So, one should not jump into the conclusion that the movies are of superior quality, and the only area that requires improvement is advertising.

Secondly, based on less number of movie screening attendees, the argument claims that people are unaware of the good movies being screened. This argument appears false, especially in today's day and age, where many people prefer enjoying movies at the comfort of their own home. The OTT platforms such as Netflix and Hulu have made it extremely easier for people to access good quality movies inside their own room, without going to the screen. This suggests that despite spending a huge sum of money in advertising, it might not lead people to go for screening, since a majority of the viewers actually prefer watching them at home.

Also, the argument suggests to expend a larger proportion of the budget on advertising. While doing so, the budget for other factors such as cinematography, writing and set designs might not get required budget, which in turn reduces the quality of a movie. Advertising might encourage people to go to the screening, but the negative reviews resulting from such poor quality movies will gather negative response. This ultimately results in low number of attendees for screening.

Overall, the argument is not convincing enough to arrive at the conclusion that more budget in advertising department will guarantee more screening attendees. Much work is needed for the arguer to improve the cogency and logic of the argument. The movie production company requires more plausible data on a sincere review of the movies conducted on such group of people that truly represents the screening attendees. They should also conduct further research to analyze every department and their shortcomings before concluding that the problem lies in advertising department. These improvements will help provide the argument with stronger foundation.