The following is taken from a memo of the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company According to the recent report of our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended our movies as compared to any other year And yet

The author of the memo argues that the movie production company should allocate more money towards advertising because the decline of movie watches is due to the public not being aware of the available movies. At first glance, the argument may seem convincing. However, upon close scrutiny, the author makes several logical errors which severely hinders its persuasiveness.

First, the author argues that the movies must be in good quality because the percentage of positive reviews from movie reviewers have increased. While it is plausible that the movie quality is great, the author fails to acknowledge that regular public may have different standards of quality compared to a professional movie reviewer. In this regard, it would be much convincing had the author provided the reviews of regular public as data.

In addition, the author fails to consider the possibility that the number of people that watched movies in the past year has declined. The author bases his argument on the assumption that movie viewers are not watching movies because the absolute number of viewers have decreased. However, if the overall number of people that watch movies have declined within the past year, it may not be true that Super Screen-produced movies are less popular. In fact, it may be even possible that Super Screen-produced movies have gone up in market share.

Finally, the assumption that the public is not aware of the movies may be false. The author states that the public are not watching the production’s movies because they are not aware of the positive reviews. However, the public may already be aware of the reviews, but they are not watching for another reason. For example, more enticing movies may have been in the theaters the same time as the productions movies, leading to the public watching other movies even after being aware of the production movie’s positive reviews. To strengthen this assumption, there should be some sort of evidence or statistic relating the public’s awareness and movie watches.

In conclusion, the argument that the movie production company should increase their public advertising budget is flawed. For it to be stronger, the author should provide more concrete evidence that the general public are less aware of the production’s movies, statistics showing previous years’ market share including the total number of movie viewers, and the regular publics movie reviews. Without these evidences to prove the author’s claim, the increase in public advertise budget may be ineffectual.