The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Although the Super Screen Movie Production Company advertising director makes a logical cause-and-effect argument, he leaves many important questions unanswered in his argument to increase advertisement spending. In order to strengthen the argument, the director would need to adress the variety of reasons that may have caused the decrease in movie showing attendence. Along with answering questions about outside variables, the director would, furthermore, need to present more information about the distribution and details of these reviews, impact of competition, and evaluation of effective advertising in order to draw any meaningful conclusions.

One of the most important factors that the author did not adress throughout the entire passage was the possibility of other confounding variables influencing the relationship between review positivity and attendance decrease. Is the decrease in people attending possibly due to an increase in cost? Has the cost of a ticket or food items gone up in the past yeat? Maybe it is not a matter of awareness of good movie quality but of lack of family or individual finances to fund move trips. In addition to cost as a factor possiblility in lowering attendance, theater changes may have also played a key role. Has Super Screen Movie Production Company done anything to change its policies or venues over the past few years. Are the movie theater seats too old? Factors such as this may have very well influenced that number of people who pay good money to sit in those seats, for example. Is there a possibility that the rise of streaming movies, such as that of Netflix, Hulu and other streaming apps, which have become household names, has lowered people's desire to attend movie theaters in the first place? Has the advertising director done research into this possible cause? These are only a few of questions that must be taken into account as other possible outside causes for the decrease in attendance. Invalidating these would greatly add value to the recommendation.

One could then question the validity of the sample size for those reviews in the first place. Did some locations get shut down? Are these customers comprehensive of the entire population's views and opinions? How are these reviews distributed and filled out? Oftentimes, surveys word questions in certain ways to elicit specific answers. Is there a possibility that these reviews primed customers to give raving reviews even if they had lackluster experiences. There is a possibility that the decrease in attendance may actually be due to dissastisfaction in customers even if the reviews went up due to this discrepency.

Outside competitors may have also influenced this decrease in viewer attendance. Throghout the argument, the author makes no reference to any competition. Do Super Screen Movie Production Company theaters have any competition close by? Maybe it is not a matter of customers being aware of the quality movies, but being aware that there are better theaters availible. Without mention of any competition, the author leaves it up to the interpretation of the reader to asses whether or not other movie franchises may have influenced this fall in customers.

Furthermore, with the rise of popular media, awareness of good quality movies is often brought to the viewers through the variety of advertisements and social media campaigns. The author makes the assumption that the only way for people to be aware of good quality movies is through their local theaters. In order to asses whether it is truly the production company's own lack of advertising, the director would need to present evidence that the customers are unaware of the theaters showing these movies, not the movies themselves.

To strengthen this argument in order to draw any conclusion to raise funds for advertising, the director must adress the outside confounding variables that may have influenced the decrease in attendance, other inside factors such as old seats that may have lowered viewers tendencies to pick the theater, the validity of the survey, impact of competition, and affects of effective advertising on the decline. This would not only strengthen the argument, but make the recommendation useful for Super Screen Movie Production Company to possibly allocate funds to advertising in order to raise customer viewership back up.