A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting you position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

One of a nation's greatest duties to its citizens is the responsibility that it has to ensure that all idividuals are given an opportunity to receive a proper education. However, what exactly defines a "proper" education? Is there a way to standarize this education in order to perfectly match the needs of each student in an entire country? Some would argue that this is possible, and to a certain extent, that may be the case. Essentially, a nation should establish minimum benchmarks for students to reach in order mark progress, but a nation should not demand that all students follow the same curriculum due to that fact that this does not recognize the variety of different needs and strengths that each student has and contributes to the classroom. Furthermore, this "hit-or-miss" style curriculum does not acknoweldge specials needs or other accomodations that some students require in order to learn effectively.

All individuals are unique to how they learn the most efficiently and, more importantly, use that learning to develop key traits that will allow them to be successful in life. Some students are visual learners and need pictures or images to aid them in conceptualizing a lesson, while others are better adept at understanding lessons in a vocal or auditory way. Implementing a curriculum that only employs either visual or auditory methods of teaching would leave one of these two students at a great disadvantage to learning. Teacher's should continually be given the opportunity to change the classroom to meet the needs of every single student, not mold each student into a clay model of the nation's universal ideal student.

Still yet, other students pick up mathematics extremely well and seem to have a way with numbers when others, who are maybe less adept with numbers, could easily run miles without end on the track field. Each of these individuals has a special way of expressing him or herself that may present in an amalgam of fields ranging from the computational to the athletic. If the standard is set to only praise those who exhibit the computational and not the athletic, there is the possibility of hindering the "slower" individual's learning by lowering his or her self esteem. If a pedagogy is to only recognize the attributes of one of these students, imbalance is sure to take place both in and outside of the classroom. In this sense, the nation would not only lack in contribution to that student's learning in the classroom, but also, in a sense, hinder it. This allows little room for those who either cannot keep up or those who find the material too easy to excel. It may cause slower students to feel stupid or dumb and, hence, lower their self-esteem while causing the students who learn quickly to become bored and unchallenged.

Furthermore, some students, particularly those with disabilities, require certain accomodations in the classroom. A standardized curriculum that does not meet these needs would hinder them from being able to have an equal opportunity to learn on the same playing field as other children in the classroom.

In conclusion, although the nation should be required to set minimum standards with which should be met in order for an individual to meet college requirements, the nation should not demand that all students follow the exact same "standardized" curriculum. Although standardization could be good to establish a minimum of required to knowledge to prepare students to enter college, it should not establish a "one size fits all" education.