A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

Learning must be a fun process. Due to the increase in technological growth, the present generation students prefer practical knowledge to boring long lectures from pedagogues. The prompt suggests that there must be a common curriculum for the entire nation. I strongly disagree to the above suggestion for the following reasons.

To begin, unemployment has become a serious issue in modern times. According to a survey, one of the main reasons is due to lack of pragmatic knowledge. Many schools and colleges spend too much time on the theoretical information leaving little time for practicing and applying the concepts the individual has learnt. For example, if there were a problem regarding a household appliance, knowing the reason for its malfunction isn’t going to help one. A particular set of skill is required to fix it which is not acquired by long tedious lessons.

Secondly, the students should have a right to express their interest. They should be allowed to be creative and should be able to experiment regardless of the outcome. Confining them to the one schedule does not allow them to think out of the box. They should be allowed to choose subjects depending on their interests. For instance, if a student who aspired to become a horse trainer was forced to take computer lessons instead of learning programming, they might be staring at the horse wallpaper in their computer screen all day.

Thirdly, there is rise in mental health issues in the past few years such as anxiety and social awkwardness. The modern curricula primarily focus on forcing students into studying. It is designed with a surfeit of presentations, surprise tests and online exams which play a crucial role in their final grade. Many of these exams are often unannounced and therefore creating impact on the student’s mental health. Students if allowed to design their own curricula based on their goals, these issues can be curbed to certain extent.

In conclusion, by allowing them to choose subjects according to their own will students will be far more benefited. Students will tend to be more creative and studying would be fun.