In the age of television, reading books is not as important as it once was. People can learn as much by watching television as they can by reading books.

Reading has now become a part of our history. Nowadays, people prefer watching television & watching videos online as a better source of education & entertainment as well. Some believe that people can learn as much as by watching television as they can by reading books. However, I disagree with this prompt as the books written by such ingenious & famous authors are a gem to our society. These novels and books provide us with great insight into past events as well as the experiences of the author. These two reasons will help me elaborate on my viewpoint regarding the importance of books in our daily life.

In my opinion, reading books provide us with invaluable experience that no social media or television show could ever provide. The author sketches away all his experiences of his whole life into a book that takes our imagination to a whole new level. For instance, the best seller book on finance “The rich dad & poor dad” suffices the author whole experience and also tells us ways to embrace our own path. He provides us with ways to increase our knowledge base and take us to a hypothetical world that one who reads a book can only imagine. The above example illustrates how an author imbibes his ideas and the readers can comprehend from it and even take it to another level according to their own imagination. This power of imagination lacks in the people who try to grasp knowledge from television where the only source is the person speaking and limiting the knowledge base of the viewer.

Even if, the television show can make the viewer understand things better but scientific facts show that the person who reads & learns from books can retain more than the person who grasps more from the television and able to retain very less. Scientists believe that people can experience the physical touch of the books that helps the person to retain more than through any other source of knowledge. For example, in a scientific study two students were given one-week time for a test, each, however, was provided with a different source to learn about the test. One was provided with television & internet sources and another kid was provided with books. After one week, it was seen that boy, who was given the internet and other sources were able to cover more syllabus, however, was able to retain very less as compared to the other boy who retained more and hence was able to score more marks. This example illustrated the importance of reading books, have on once’s mind and how it helps in the retention of memory.

However, some believe that television still is a better source as it can provide more knowledge in less amount of time. However, the amount of white or blue television radiates has caused restlessness in the eyes due to which people are not able to focus and retain more data in their mind. So, in the end, I will conclude by saying people can learn more by reading books as compared to television in this era.