An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Insomnia is a condition where one does not feel sleepy at all but is always tired. Insomnia cases have dramatically increased in the past few years. The author recommends lavender scent as a cure to the insomnia condition. The author makes some unwarranted suggestions which lack evidence.

Firstly, the prompt mentions that the lavender scented pillows proved effective for all the patients diagnosed with chronic insomnia. The author fails to mention the patients age, allergies, race and time since they were diagnosed. A Canadian male of age forty might have different genetic traits when compared to an African female in her late twenties. Therefore, they might not be receptive of the lavender scent which might precipitates various side effects. If the above assertions hold true, then the argument might not hold water.

Secondly, the author clearly states that lavender scent was tested on only thirty people. However, questions arise if the output is credible if it has only been tested on few subjects. For example, to release a drug or any medicine into the market, a series of tests will be conducted in laboratories, rodents and few hundreds of people systematically. The results obtained from the thirty patients might not be similar to the other set of patients with the same disease. If these reasons are true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Thirdly, the author suggest that the volunteers were unable to sleep soundly during the second week. The cause of this is never clearly stated perhaps it might be due to the initial exposure of scent without proper medication or due to the smell itself. If the cause is lavender scent itself then it is ironic, the scent that should put the people into sleep is disturbing them from getting enough sleep. If these suggestions are true, then the argument is weakened.

In conclusion, the author makes some unwarranted assumptions without providing reliable information on the subject. If the author is able to provide more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of proposed argument.