A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is lucid that a unified educational system will be able to support equal opportunities in the field of education. Nevertheless, a monolithic system will compromise the diversity of the society and it may also lead to an obsession in private education.

First of all, by providing a unified curriculum all students participating in education will get an equal chance of education and thus an equal opportunity to enroll in universities. In Korea, there are special purpose high schools such as foreign language high schools. These school, which are notorious for their high admission fees, provides special education for rich students even if they are not proficient in foreign language. Since they have access to these special educations which are favorable to university entrance exams, they are in a propitious situation when applying to universities. However, due to their grandiose admission fees, most parents are not able to afford sending their children to those academies. However, if the government decides to apply a uniform system of education, these disparities will vanish and will lead to a fair competing environment.

Nevertheless, there is still the possibility that even if the government enforces a uniform educational system, rich parents will afford private education anyway so the unfairness of education will not be able to expurgate. For instance, private afterschool institutions and tutors have become more popular ever since the Korean government has tried to enforce a single educational curriculum. While students who are from a penurious family cannot afford additional education and has to focus on school lectures, students who are from families that can afford theses subsidiary educations will be able to have a head start in the college entrance exams. Consequently, a unified education cannot solve disparity and may result in a private education boom.

In addition, the fallacy of a monolithic education is that is hinders diversity. Students are very different from each other, and they all have different strengths. Although a single educational system may produce well-rounded individuals, it may fail to further strengthen some strong points of certain students. For instance, North Korea has constructed science high schools for the gifted in order to strengthen their national power. They have been able to nurture student's with a keen judgement and insight in these fields and these students provide diversity into the society. Also, in France, there are schools that focus on arts and music so that talented students can grow up into renown artists. Hence, it by providing diverse education the society will become more colorful.

In conclusion, although a single system of education may seem appropriate in the sense that it provides equal starting points, the unfairness of education cannot be simply mitigated by it. In contrast, it only hampers diversity and will result in an insipid society.