Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Humans are social animals and we cannot live without associating with other, and in this process legislation and morals play a important role in shaping our society. These laws, although should be flexible so that it incorporates trends, should not be too capricious so that it causes confusion. It should be situated somewhere in between.

Admittedly, ideologies change as time passes and laws should be able to incorporate the changes to be more effective. In different times, notions about justice or obligations and rights can change thus resulting in new laws to take these altercations into account. For instance, in the early 19th century the african americans were not granted the ability to vote while nowadays, this act would be thought as apartheid and would be dismissed right away. Without the amendment of laws following the changes of society however, african americans would still not be able to vote because the original law was preventing them to do so. Consequently, flexible laws can better represent social trends, thus be more justifiable and efficient.

Nevertheless, when a national congress is mercurial and changes the law with every emerging trend within the society, it will likely cause chaos. If rules change too frequently, people will not be able to keep up with the change and will be likely to make blunders unwittingly. For instance, in 2008, the Korean government decided to alter the traffic rules so that cars heading left were handed the priority over cars going straight because they anticipated that this will facilitate traffic. However, this only caused confusion between drivers and accident rates increased dramatically. Hence, too flexible a law could itself be a problem.

Finally, a truly propitious law would be one that is both flexible and coherent to some extent. It is inevitable that laws change as we and the society change, but it is also clear that they should be coherent to not cause confusion. Therefore, there should be some main laws that should not be changed while details of other laws should be the ameliorated when needed. This system is a hierarchy that democratic societies are holding: the federal laws and the constitution presents the ground for all other laws and are immutable, while state laws are prone to change. USA adapting this policy is able to efficiently govern it's country by both stricture and leniency.

In conclusion, although both flexibility and consistency are important to a legislation, they should reach consolidation to be truly hold justice.