Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

For a society to develop in a propitious way, every individual should act on behalf of justice and try to get their voice recognized. However, the yardstick to categorize the just laws to unjust ones is too ambiguous and differs from situation to situation. Furthermore, if people just neglect the legislation simply because it seems unjust, the society might fall into chaos.

Admittedly, in the public clearly shows their opinions about laws and choose which ones to conform to, the legislation may be altered to portray a higher justice. Legislators that do not take the public voice into account when establishing the laws should not be relegated since it is their duty to represent the general in a democratic society. For instance, a conservative politician named Lee Chung Hyun was impeached because he overlooked the public's disconcert to the partial tax legislation: he disagreed on the tax rates being too high for the middle and low class citizens of the country. Hence, showing dissent to unjust laws may improve the constitution.

Nevertheless, the criterion to distinguish between just and the unjust is too vague: it depends on which group you belong in, your social status, family relations, religion, race, etc. Unless a clear yardstick is given - which there isn't and will not be - the controversy between various groups intermingled with their advantages will have to keep on violating the laws to get their way which is imposturous. For instance, the Islam and Muslim have been fighting for Israel for over 2000 years and each person in believing in the religion will think that the holy city is justly theirs. However, to a arbiter's point of view, both person can be right and there is not clear right or wrong. Consequently, the discernment of laws as good or bad should be a prudent one and be done with care.

Furthermore, if the public were to disobey laws because they feel that they are discriminated, it would result in a lot of social bedlam. As Socrates said a bad law is still a law, people should learn to conform to laws even if they do not like it for the sake of the society. A epitome of a society falling into a frenzy is not far away. Countries in South and Central America has had difficulty in developing their countries due to the severe resistance of their people in a action to disobey the laws. For the purpose of solving these problems, people in these areas should acknowledge that sometimes complying to laws may result in a better result.

In conclusion, although by contravening laws that may seem unfair may result in a amendment of such laws, it would be unsound to categorize the laws as impartial and partial in the first place. Also, rebellious attitudes toward those laws may result in a tumultuous society, hence hindering the development of one's own country.