Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure

Keeping law and order in a state is the responsibility of every citizen. However, it is our responsibility to resist laws that may hamper our daily lives.

Adding on to this, human society has evolved into a complex society. The rules we make are an attempt for a perfect, egalitarian and quixotic place for humans to live. Had the humans been always obeying the same law since its inception, such laws would be obsolete for our present-day society. We have achieved all this through multiple trials and attempts and in our may we had disobeyed as well as a resisted unjust law.

-To give an example how could it be possible for Mahatma Gandhi to vanguard the Indian Freedom for independence against the British, if the majority population decided to abide by the unjust law from the British. Major revolutions and human advancements are a result of the awareness of the general public to disobey the law when needed.

However, this all or nothing statement should be taken with a pinch of salt. Who defines the “just” or “unjust” law? A law might be amenable to one society but it can be intolerable for others. Although the terrorist who kills innocents are just in their case to act in the favor of God, it is an unjust and inhumane act for others.

Although the degree of just is commensurate with the color of one’s spectacles, just laws should never hamper other’s rights and freedoms. Therefore, the individual sense of the dichotomy of “just” is subjective my agreement to this prompt is limited.