people learn better form higher-level individuals, such as teachers and supervisors or form persons who are in their own level

Some people might claim that people can learn better from those at their same level. They cite advantages like both can share a common problem and confusion , and hence can learn and teach.

I do not agree with such people. I strongly agree that students can learn better from their teachers or supervisors than from their compatriots on the basis of three specific reasons.

First of all, it is easy to ask a dumb questions. Usually learners asknaive question, and feel embarassed when they realise the answer was so patent clear. Such embarrasment is magnified when he's learning with someone from the same level. For example, in a group study session, a student might refrain from clearing his doubts on an apparently easy question. But when working with a supervisor, the student does not compare his cognizance of the subject with his supervisors and confidently ask questions. So when working with his seniors he can clear his doubts more clearly.

Second of all, supervisors and teachers have more knowledge. For example, if a student asks a questio to hs fellow classmate, the classmate can give a partially correct answer. Even though the classmate might have tried the best, there is apossibility that he might have missed a concept too. But teachers are better experts of their subjects and they can answer more accurately. Disabusing a learned concept is usually tough, so it is essential to learn from accurate sources.

Lastly, teachers or supervisors are paid to help but a fellow co-worker can be irked with the constant stream of questions. For example, even if a particular student knows about American History, he is not obliged to share it with his classmates. He might dedicate more time on increasing his knowledge horizon. On the other hand, teachers are obliged to answer all the questions.

To conclude, the issue on if it is better to lean from a teacher or a friend is complex. Some have suggested some benifits. Nevertheless, I maintain that teachers can teach a student in a much better way.