"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

While a sense of competition can definitely bring out the best from someone, it is usually through cooperation we can succeed in a society.

The modern human society is so diverse that it is virtually impossible to be a omniscient. Although , all cows or animals need the same skills as their compatriots, humans need complementing skills and characterstics to succeed. Can we imagine a society with all doctors ? With all farmers ? Yuval Harari in his books Sapiens, has stated the biggest advantage we have as humans is our ability to cooperate. I could not agree more with Yuval and I agree with the statement's emphasis on cooperation to succeed.

Let us take an example of Uber or a hotel booking website OYO. Uber has no taxis to its name and OYO has no hotels to its name, but with a business model built out of cooperation they are one of the biggest companies. Similarly, in government and other field , most of the time there will be opposing factions but the best way out is through competition.

Although cooperation can be a good lesson for the young mind, having no critics or criticism can be complacent. For example if there is a debate in a school and all students work hard to find good evidence for one side of the arguement and, there are no opposing or counter views they might be a smug to think they are good debaters. Sense of competition is required to check one's position with another.

We can always argue if the world would be the same without the two great wars. Definitely they were devastating in nature but most of the major advancement in this age - internet , nuclear power plant etc-- were developed through a sense of competition during the war. Examples like these can be used to challenge my postion for the need of cooperation rather than competiton.

Although I agree to the statement, I have to qualify its dichotomous nature. Young people need to learn a sense of competition as well, as the real world is not quite amenable. I would agree if the prompt stated "Instilling a sense of cooperation to young people can be beneficial but they would need a sense a competition to succeed further."