A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring

The prompt asserts the research found from studying a specific type of monkeys providing clues on the effects of birth order and the similarities of the result found in human and pregnant monkeys of any type. There are major flaws in the statement which must be considered before counting it as a credible one.

Firstly, the study is based on eighteen rhesus monkeys which could be a special case and might not be considered as the general scenario. perhaps the monkeys were flocking together for having similar genes and so have similar traits like the hormone cortisol. They cannot represent the overall case of birth order on an individual’s level of simulation.

Secondly, Maybe the firstborn is not used to encounter with other unfamiliar monkeys as it has not been familiar with them for being the first born and may be it’s younger siblings have grown up seeing other unfamiliar monkeys. The first time experience could be a cause of increased level of stimulation that is created by cortisol hormone and not the birth order.

Thirdly, the claim that humans also produce high level of cortisol while seeing a parent after an absence is because the first born is more close to the parent than the later born which is a habitual fact and not because of the order of birth.

Finally, the claim that the first time pregnant monkeys have higher level of cortisol is because of their young age when level of hormones is always high and the pregnant monkeys with several off springs are probably older by age when the level of hormones is relatively low. perhaps the fact is completely age related and not birth order related.

In conclusion, the research requires much more investigations considering the above mentioned cases and it must have valid answers regarding the questions that have arisen before making any statement on the results of the research.