Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

governments officials are elected by the people they serve and expected to fulfill their demands. relying on the officials own judgement without considering the people's will whom they are ought to serve could bring disastrous outcome for the government. A sense of balance between the government's judgement and the public will is more acceptable for a government to work well.

A government official's own judgment could be the one that serves his own personal interest. An official may take a decision that would benefit him or his team politically. This could hurt the will of public who voted for them through election. For example, if an official wants to transfer from one place to another where he has less popularity, he would certainly fail as a decision maker. Adolf Hitler lost his popularity for being extremely tyrannical and not withstanding with public demand. such approach may bring negative outcome for any government.

On the other hand, carrying out the will of the people they serve unquestionably is a sign of inept approach. such approach makes the government having not so prudent officials who can have their own judgement. For instance, in a local community, the most prudent member is always honoured as the decision maker of the community. he certainly does not follow the members will blindly. if there is a conflict within the community, how would he just carry out the will of both the party? he must act wise and understand the situation and bring out the best possible solution.

A sense of balance where the will of the public and the judgment of the officials must be made. take the example of any nation of the world. Before making a political relationship with another nation's government , they must call meeting internally to discuss about the pros and cons of the step. they first make sure that it would not hurt the will of public and then they take the decision that would benefit them as a political party.

In conclusion, government officials may rely on their own judgment for certain cases where there is nothing to do with meeting or not meeting public demand, but for every other case, they must make the most diplomatic approach in order to survive as a government.