A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal re

The author of the claim concludes that regular dental checkup doesn't engender healthy teeth, based on the findings of a study. His evidence might hold water if the evidence he used were more robust but it teems with unstated assumptions. We can discuss at least three alternative explanations of the evidence provided in the prompt.

The children who visited the dentist more frequently in the United States might have better chances of preventing tooth decay. Even though the author cites the average visit to the dentist, it might be possible that the children visiting the dentist more than the average have good healthy teeth. Perhaps, some of them visit more than 5 times a year while a majority visit twice a year. It may be possible that the majority who seldom visit their dentist have higher rates of tooth decay. To fix this assumption and its possible explanation the author could provide more insightful data.

The author assumes that visiting a dentist is the only way to mitigate dental effects. While a dentist can help the child on the same level, there might be other factors that might exacerbate their condition. Perhaps children of the Himalayan region have healthy food habits. Maybe they have no access to chocolates and candies. They might even have healthier water which prevents them from excessive tooth decay. However, urban children with a higher level of tooth decay might teem with chocolates all the time. The author needs to provide evidence that the primary impetus behind good teeth is proper dental care.

Also, the author assumes the recent study is written in the stones and they are 100% correct. It might be possible that another study supplants the study the author cites. The author needs to mention the credibility of the study, and if not provided, is plastic to several possible explanations.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands has teamed with several unstated pieces of evidence. The assumptions if not addressed can be elaborated into several plausible alternative explanations, that if not substantiated, can seriously undermine the pervasiveness of the essay.