"Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning." - Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns

Nowadays, almost all educational institutes value meritocracy; good marks entails good praise from the teachers. Students are thus motivated to work harder to achieve higher grades. While achieving higher grades is always desirable, contention among students can qualify the quality of the real learning process. The given prompt provides two contrasting views on whether strong competition bolsters or undermines the quality of reading. My views mostly align with the view that competition can undermine the quality of reading on the basis of two reasons.

To start with, too much competitiveness in the class can encourage a rot-memorization culture. Thus students are more focused on memorizing like a parrot rather than understanding it. For example, in a class with high competition for the grades, most students may study only the “important” or the lecture notes for the exam. Books usually take a long time to comprehend but it is the best source of information. To expedite their reading process students may undermine the latter in favor of the first. Although students can pass or even get a good mark studying the lecture notes, his real knowledge is not through if he studied without comprehending the subject matters.

Additionally, excessive competition can weaken the morale of some students. In any class there are some naturally good test-takers who are not only good in pressure situations but also can write according to the teacher’s convenience. Other students are always inclined to think of the good test takers great talents and thus assume these talented students can perform well anywhere in their life. However, classroom success does not correlate overall success; but praising a good “test-taker” can instill a misguided notion in fledging minds that classroom success correlates to overall success.

In my opinion, competition generally undermines real learning but the first intention of introducing “competition as a way of improving” was good. For example, a student was second in a class by 1 grade. Perhaps he might be more inclined to put in one extra hour studies per day to top the class. There might be an extra incentive to study rather than procrastinating. Although competition can be good on a basic level, it might hamper the actual learning as mentioned in the above paragraphs.

In conclusion, we live in a competitive world and we face competition at every nooks and corner. Although competition can bring the best out of someone, it seriously undermines the roles of other factors like confidence, teamwork and personal relationship required for success.