The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Generally, a great person is lionized after his death. It is more relevant in politics where even the toughest, and unlikely opponent praise the dead. The prompt states that individual greatness should be gauged as a function of time. Although contemporaries are generally correct on deciding the greatness of a person, barring some outlying examples, sometimes the contemporaries do not have a good idea about how the great person’s vision span out in time. Hence, I mostly agree with the prompt but concede that there are some ways where the argument does not hold water.

As mentioned earlier, human sympathy reaches its peak when the person is dead. All his wrong deeds are forgotten and he is lionized by his later contemporaries. Take an example of Thomas Elba Edison. He was prone to vituperations by most of his contemporaries for his “business”-minded approach to science. Although his contemporary Nikola Tesla was arguably more respected and more praised among the scientific community, nowadays Edison is more remembered for his invention of the electric bulb. His science contemporaries did not regard his invention as tantamount to the electric flux theorem developed by Tesla, but the electric bulb stands out as the important development of the 20th century.

Additionally, compatriots generally protect any law or theory intransigently. In fact, most people resist change. The fact that Earth revolves around the sun is a well-known fact even for 8 years old. Galileo who first postulated this theorem about 400 years was ridiculed and even threaten to kill as well. Most of his comrades protected the traditional view. In fact, his inventions had profound consequences over the past centuries. In the above two ways, the given statement might be true.

However, history is apparently written by the winning side or the dominating side. In fact, most of the ancient histories are subjective analysis by a group of individual. For example, the Veda, Hindu’s oldest books were written about 8000 years ago which were later destroyed by the intruders. Later on, the knowledge which was passed as a “word of mouth”, was recompiled by later writers. One can assume the story might have fabricated many a time before the later writers decided to recompile it. As books are generally prone to qualitative bias, history books, which record the historical greatness of an individual, can definitely color our perspective of an individual’s greatness.

In conclusion, the greatness of a person is not so well predicted by his contemporaries. Although history books can sometimes be colored with a subjective point of view, time is a good parameter for an individual’s greatness.