The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meal

In the letter from the parent of a student to the principal of a school, the parent claims that the school's good intention to serve healthier lunch to all the students might backfire. The conclusion is based on weak several unstated assumptions which might undermine the validity of the prediction. Three questions need to be answered to decide if the conclusion holds water.

Firstly, did the complaining parent consult with all the parents? It might be possible that most of the parents had no complains. Although she cites the opinion of her son as well as "several" friends, it might be possible that 3 out of 1000 students did not like the food. In fact, most of the parents might be happy because the school's serving a healthy diet. The author needs to provide evidence if she were writing on behalf of all parents or not.

How could she be confident that the intent of hiring a new caterer was to provide a healthy food? It might be possible that Swift Nutrition provided a cheaper tender and the school management opted for it. Perhaps, the school was out of profit and providing low-fat, low-calorie food was one of its plan to make money. The author needs ask the school's intent to hire Swift Nutrition.

Finally, how can she be confident on the fact that Swift Caterer provides a low-fat, low-calories food? Perhaps, the author might have heard it in a radio 10 years ago. It might not be the case now. In fact, Swift Caterer might provide healthier as well as tasty option for most of the students. If it were true, it would definitely undermine the basis of the argument.

In conclusion, the argument has several unstated assumptions, which can undermine its validity.