The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the context, the parents of Kensington Academy concludes that the new cafeteria private company Swift Nutrition should be replaced with a new one as this affect on students to telling health consequences. Imposing in this prosaic way , the author fails to answer several cardinal question form which the argument can be exempted. To justify his conclusion the author cites that her child with other friends complaining about the lunch options & many students are bringing their own food. However, careful scrutiny view of this evidence reveals that there are an abundance of loopholes laying among the evidence which made the argument unwarranted. Therefore, the argument can be considered unpersuasive & need more trenchant analysis.

In his statement the author just provide evidence of his child & his percentage. Though it seems meretricious, it can not be accepted evidence as we do not know how many friends were there & what is there percentage in respect with the total child of the school. I might be happened that except his child & friends, other students are feel good about this healthy food. It might be happened that the other parents of the school child force their students to eat that healthy food of Swift Nutrition. Without knowing this implying the parents idea can be precarious.

Another fact the parent mention that students are bringing there own food for lunch. However, the parent did not mention it that how he knew that or what amount of students are bringing there own food. Besides this, he also did not mention the students who bringing there own food are new to bring there own food or they did that before Swift Nutrition come. If they did that before the new company come in then this evidence is fruitless as it is there tradition to bring home made food. Additionally, the author insist to replace the company which ambiguous because they can be instructed to make more enjoyable less healthy food as the students wanted to eat. So with clarifying this issue the decision of the parents can not be considered as a valuable one.

On the other hand, the argument of the parent can be supplemental if some survey has been conduct which result show that maximum student do not like the food. Beside that, if it have been proven that the chef of the new vendor can not produce tasty food as the students demand , then the company can be fired as the parents wanted. Hence, on of this reasons should have to prove to implicate the parents idea.

In summary, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands with such porosity. To make it more reinforced , it is needed to provide some statistical data which help to judge the argument,perhaps by conducting a reliable survey among the school students to know

whether they like this vendor's food or not.