Every Individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.In developing and supporting your position , be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Laws are certainly one of the most binding aspects in a well-functioning and modern society.Laws are

what prevents us from falling into total chaos and guarantees our well-being and safety.By defining

a given set of rules in which the society is supposed to function it brings stability and peace to the

entire community . Hence , as a responsible member of a society every individual has a strong responsibility

to obey laws and help in their enforcement. But what if these laws go against your own well-being? What if

these laws that are supposed to aid your development are actually causing your deterioration and of the society

in large.In such case , once again as a responsible member of the society we have a moral responsibility to

disobey and resist such unjust laws.

Freedom , Right to speech , Right to express views and Equal opportunity are some of the basic rights

that every human being deserves. If our laws are restricting our access to any of the aforementioned

rights, then surely we should resist such oppressive laws. Just as following just laws is important for the development

and well-being of our society , so is resisting laws that prove to be detrimental to the society in large.

If a person is passive towards such things and does not feel a sense of responsibility towards the laws of

his society then he is as good as not even being a part of the society.A society is of the people , for

the people and by the people and hence it is the people who are responsible for it.Laws such as those

for Road Safety , against criminal activities , healthcare facilities etc. are for our own good and hence

we are supposed to follow them.However there was a time when jobs and facilities were given to people based

on their skin color , something known today as Racism. People of color were highly discriminated and were

made to do derogatory jobs while the white people would live lavish lifestyles. If people would have passively

followed the laws , would the lives of these innocent people have ever improved ? No.It was only because

people chose to raise their voice against this unjust oppressions , only because they chose to resist and disobey

such laws ,were they able to take back what they truly deserved : An equal opportunity and right to live.

Obviously there are always two sides to every coin.The argument can easily be misinterpreted for doing whatever a person wants

as long as he personally thinks it is correct.Now if a criminal think it's a unjust law that he is not

allowed to commit burglary , will he start disobeying the law thinking that he is correct? Obviously no.

A Society is not a single entity but a mixture of a variety of unique and different minded people. As such,

views of one person won't necessarily be supported by another person. Hence the decision to resist and disobey

any law should be done keeping in mind the greater good of the society rather than personal beliefs.

In the United States Of America , the difference in opinion over the abolition of slavery led to the civil war.

No one wants a total breakdown of the social order and hence any actions shouldn't be done on any wild impulses

but rather by looking at the big picture.After all the people who make these laws , the lawmakers are the people

who we elected or chose and hence by being disobedient and showing resistance to their unjust policies

we can show that we are the one in power.

Now some people would say that if everyone would start obeying or disobeying rules according to their own will then

there is no point in even having laws leading to chaos and tyranny . Now this is completely wrong to think of.

As mentioned before , as long as laws are in the greater good of the society , then the members will

follow it . If anyone thinks it's unjust he/she is allowed to express his views and is his arguments are

cogent enough then the society as a whole would protest and rules will have to change.Even though , its

a long process it's better than sitting idly and do nothing about the oppression.If members in a society

are passive and just accept whatever boundations are thrown on them , then anyone can take easy advantage of them

for their own benefits.This would lead to their deprivation of the basic necessities that are needed to live with dignity.

Hence , it's better to raise your voice than just becoming a rag doll to the lawmakers.

Obeying laws is a important duty to ensure order and peace in any society. No one should be allowed to

act on free will and go unchecked.Cooperating with the laws that entail your society not only makes your

life easier but also of everyone else and allows everyone to progress together. Similarly , if some law

is leading to your oppression , your deterioration you have every right to disobey and resist it as long as

it results in the greater good of the society without compromising others. Hence it is the people who

decide the fate of their society they belong in.