The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of this memo clearly indicates that to increase the number of viewers of his company produced movies, he needs to increase the allocated budget to advertisements for widespread promotion. The argument presented here to take such an action is unwarranted and not substantial.

There are many questions that are needed to be answered before getting to any conclusion. Firstly, the reliability of the source of the report needs to be scrutinized, that is, how reliable the source is? And how coherent is the data with the actual circumstances? An abberration in the data can result in improper conclusions.

Also, what if the movie ticket rates have gone high since the last year and most of the people cannot afford it? Or what if the movie has not released over a large part of the country, clinging to just major cities? This can also be the reason of less viewer turnout.

Also, if the company is producing movies of the same genre again and again, people will become less interested to watch it.Perhaps, the genre itself can be a selective criteria for the viewers. What if the genre of the movies does not attract people, it may be because it is too hackneyed or not in interest of many people or even against some. For example, an adult movie has a limited adult audience and so it will not attract more viewers.

The author concludes by saying that a greater part of the budget needs to be allocated to advertisements. The author should answer whether the overall budget is sufficient enough for the company to spend a greater amount for widespread promotions. So the author needs to answer and scrutinize all the above situations before allocating a large part of the share to advertisements and then come to a plausible conclusion.