The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

The business plan set forth by Apex Corp. has major flaws that need to be accounted for if it is to be a success.

The first downfall of the plan is assuming that by selling the coffee in supermarkets this will be enough to sustain sales and increase the profile of the coffee through word-of-mouth. As the coffee is 'artisan' this means that there is less of a demand from the average shopper who just wants regular coffee to get them through the morning. Many who shop in the supermarket may simply go for the cheap staple coffee that they always go for and ignore this new, but expensive, brand. A supermarket is also not the kind of setting that would give the right advertisement vibe of an 'artisan' coffee. To improve this, it would be best to launch the new brand as an exclusive to the trendiest coffee spots. Increasing hype around the coffee and creating a heightened sense of luxury. Only after this should it be released more wide-spread, once its name is known.

Secondly, if there is a known demand for 'artisan' coffee then Apex Corp. will have competitors that will also be looking to move into this space. This does not seem to have been accounted for in the business plan. This would cause demand to be lower than expected and if the competitors move faster with a better campaign they would achieve the coveted top seller status. To improve on this it may be better for Apex Corp. to not waste time with the marketing campaign and push ahead with that straight away.

Finally, there are no concrete numbers or data given in the business plan. This means that the size of the demand is not known. The demand could range from millions of coffee beans being sold a day to simply a few cups of artisan coffee. To be able to be a top seller in the market the current size of the market and the potential growth must be known. Otherwise, it is simply pandering to what they want shareholders to hear. To counter this, Apex Corp. must produce a detailed analysis of the market and the potential demand for the coffee. This would allow for a more accurate conclusion into the potential sales of the coffee. However, this would most likely be costly and complex, potentially even offsetting the profit that could be made from the new sales.

Apex Corp. has produced a business plan that is vague, relies on bold assumptions and is missing key information. There is the potential to improve it through more detailed analysis and changing the strategy, yet this does not guarantee success and will add further cost to the project.