The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city Monroe

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in in Monroe: over 100,000 people came to visit the annual jazz festival last summer; several well known jazz players live in Monroe; and the highest rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly', which airs every weeknight at 7pm. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends $1000 on jazz entertainment per year."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The loan application for the proposed C-Note jazz club claims that a jazz club in Monroe would be a highly profitable establishment. While it may sound true that a new jazz club sounds like a lucrative business which provides entertainment to the city residents, the case presented by the group of developers is rife with holes and assumptions. Further evidence is required before a more compelling case can be presented and a loan can be sanctioned.

The developers claim that Monroe has a lot of jazz fans based on the turnaround for the annual jazz festival which was more than a 100,000. However, we are not certain about the exact number of people that are from Monroe itself. It may be that most of the people who visited the festival came out of town or out of the country. If evidence stating the actual demography of the music festival goers can be provided, a better conclusion can be arrived at.

The developers also state that the highest rated radio program in Monroe is the ‘Jazz Nightly’. However, no information has been provided about the methods through which the ratings were conducted. We are not certain about the number of people who actually listen to the radio. It may well be that only a few hundred people listen to the radio, as there are other alternatives to listen to music such as streaming music online. We also cannot be certain that of all the people who listen to the radio, every one of them has given a rating for the show. It could be a skewed rating where only the listeners of this show have given a rating. Hence, we need more data regarding the radio show ratings to make a better decision.

Also, another assumption made by the developers is that they can garner all the crowd at the new jazz club in Monroe because the closest jazz club is 65 miles away. While it may be true that there are no other jazz clubs in the surrounding area, it cannot be made certain that in the future they will not have other competitors coming up.

In conclusion, the arguments put up by the developers for a loan are flawed due to their reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If more data can be provided as mentioned above, a better evaluation can be made in the case.