The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, we predict that our new jazz music club in Monroe will be a tremendously profitable enterprise."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The prediction that a new jazz music club in Monroe will be profitable is unreasonable given the arguments that support this prediction. There are many assumptions made within the argument that require further investigation in regards to attendance to the club that will enable its profitability.

The author makes many claims about the attendance rates of the new club. First, the club is assumed to be profitable because of the attendance at an annual festival, where over 100,000 people attended the annual jazz festival in Monroe the summer prior. However, this claim does not identify whether those people lived in Monroe or not. If the majority of the people in attendance lived out of town and travel to Monroe only once per year for the annual festival, these are not necessarily the same people who are going to be able to frequent a local jazz club, meaning that the attendance in the club would not be anywhere near the festival’s output. Similarly, the author makes the statement that there are “a number” of well-known jazz musicians who own homes in Monroe. The language used here does not indicate how many musicians actually own homes, and the fact that they own the homes does not mean that they live in Monroe. The importance of their home ownership is also not identified as a support for the jazz club. If they did live in Monroe, is their presence meant to draw jazz enthusiasts outside of Monroe to the club on a regular basis just as celebrities would draw crowds? Again, both of these claims do not support that a jazz club would be profitable in that they do not fully support an indication of attendance.

Secondly, the author suggests that the profit of the club would be directly proportionate to the amount of money a typical jazz fan spends per year on jazz entertainment. However, this claim cannot be supported as an argument for profit of a jazz club because several questions are unanswered. If the typical, therefore the average, jazz fan spends $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, one half of this sample of the nationwide study spends even less than that. Less than $1000 over the course of the year would not be a profitable enterprise for any business, assuming that every customer solicited daily. Again, this is a nationwide study, not a study of those jazz enthusiasts in Monroe and the amount of disposable income they have to spend on a local jazz establishment.

In conclusion, the prediction that a local jazz music club in Monroe would be profitable is not a strong one. The arguments made in support of this prediction are weak in that they are not representative of the jazz enthusiast population in Monroe itself, but of a more outreaching jazz interest over a larger geographic area. The answers to all of the above questions are necessary in order to determine the profitability of the jazz club because they validate the ability to increase attendance and draw the revenue that the club will need in order to be profitable.