The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, a jazz music club in Monroe would be tremendously profitable."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

As per the prompt, the author of the application of a business loan argue for some amount of money to open a jazz music club in Monroe as he believes that it would be very profitable, owing to the extreme popularity and interest of the citizens in the area. However, the author reasoning seems to be based upon a few unstated assumptions, which if hailed true, would not not favor the author's argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the population count that attended the jazz festival last summer is representative of the people who are interested in jazz purely. Perhaps, the festival conducted performances from various artists, out of which only 1 or 2 were jazz artists. Probably, there was a very popular rock band that was scheduled to inaugurate and conclude the festival events which was the major cause of attraction of music lovers in the area. If the above points were to be considered, the author fails to make a cogent argument as he fails to analyze the situation closely.

Further, there is no guarantee that the turn out for this year's jazz festivities would be as significant as of last year's count. It is possible that another festival which includes a mix of various artists performing is being conducted this year on. If this is true, the number of people attending the jazz festival can drop as one would be likely to invest the same amount of money and be able to witness a diverse set of artistic performances than to visit the same genre of jazz again and again.

The author goes on to assume the fact that the number of well-known jazz musicians who live in Monroe is a factor that would contribute to the profitability of jazz club, if opened. This assumption is purely conjectural as he fails to consider those musicians' interests. Probably these famous jazz artists have their own designated cafes which they visit regularly and perform there. Why would they want to visit a newly opened jazz cafe in town? What is so special and different about it? Also, what if these musicians are always on the go - travelling and performing , and are hardly at home. If the above reasoning is considered, the author's argument fails to hold water.

Last but not the least, the author is so blind as to assume the fact that a typical jazz fan who spends close to 1000 dollars on jazz entertainment would shift these expenses towards a jazz cafe when opened in the neighborhood. The fan is probably more interested in collecting jazz CDs and posters rather than spending such an enormous amount for one night of jazz musical.

Hence , the author needs to carefully address all the data and evidence so as to make a strong appeal in favor of his request, since the current one if rife with fallacies.