The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in

which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and

explain how these examples shape your position.

Teaching is a profession where one can witness a multitude of responses from the students, be it positive or negative, curious or stolid. However, in order to gauge the effects of efficient teaching, one can check for the positive actions rendered by the students and surely encourage it to promote learning as well. Hence, I mostly agree with the prompt stated.

When a person is praised for his actions by his superior, how does one feel? One feels really good, positive, that he is on the right track of getting the things done. He would be further encouraged to perform better in the tasks allotted. Here, in this regard, a student who obeys the teacher and has diligently done the tasks assigned, must be appreciated duly by the teacher as well. This would instill a sense of confidence in the student that he has the capacity to do well and will motivate him further to improve his performance. For example, a student who has dutifully completed his homework assignment and raises further doubts regarding the assignment, unlike his other fellow students, must surely be recognised for his efforts to improve and the displayed will to learn. Such positive actions when praised, would result in the student to be motivated to emulate his actions in other situations of learning and help him dig deeper and gain a more fundamental insight on the subject.

Further, when a positive action of a student is praised by the teacher in the classsroom, every other child in the classroom would also be encouraged to perform such actions in order to gain the teacher's recognition and praise. For example, when a student raises a doubt during a study lesson which is very much germane to the topic of discussion and helped bring out the weak spot of the story, the teacher on realising this, must appreciate the student's keen eye and attention to the topic in addition to clearing his doubts. This action of the teacher would lead to the fellow students who weren't probably paying any attention to pursue an interest in the topic of discussion. It could also erase the possibility of fear of questioning and show-casing of work by students who have not yet interacted with the teacher for the same reasons. Consider a student who is not able to do his homework due to some difficulty, is scared to approach the teacher due to the fear of being reprimanded. But the sight of another student, in the similar situation approaching the teacher and getting his doubts cleared would eradicate the fear in this child to ask questions.

However, praising positive actions does not mean to ignore the negative ones. If a student is creating a ruckus in the classroom, he or she must be surely reprimanded for causing the disturbance rather than being neglected. But, if the student continues to perform further mischief in the classroom, although not of such a large scale as in the previous example, then the student must be simply ignored to prevent any disruptions in the regular flow of the class. He or she must however be noted for the mischief and reported to prevent such issues further.

In conclusion, I believe, that it is necessary to praise positive actions as this encourages the student and his fellow mates to perform better Whereas negative actions on part of the students cannot always be ignored and must be censured for when they cross the limits of respectability.