The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Teaching and learning is basis of the knowledge on which the society functions. An effictive way of teaching can bring a society from ruins however an ineffective and flawed way could crumble it to pieces. The issue whether the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and to ignore negative actions is flawed according to me.

While its true that praising a postive action can give a positive feedback loop on the learning process and promote positive attitude but at the same time ignoring negative actions can lead to adverse effect. Consider for example a brilliant student who does not have manners and ethics in place could use his brilliance for a distructive purpose, causing harm to society and individuals. Thus, its important to mitigate these effect by not just praising the positive actions but also focusing on the negative actions for overall development of an individual.

On a similar lines, what if a pharmacy gives you a drug that would surely cure ailments but also comes with a lot of side effects? Even though the medicine works well on the ailment but was it worth the negative side effects that caused another disease? Thus, even in development of these drugs its important not just to praise the working of these on specific diseases but also to make sure the negative actions of these drugs are as minimal as possible. Similarly, teaching practices should not ignore the negative actions as they are equally important as the positive actions.

Furthermore, I believe it's far more important to improve on the negative aspect than to try and perfect an already positive aspect. As we see in human psychology, we as a human give far more weight to something negative vs something positive called as "negative bias". This behaviour is useful in survival and in day-to-day lifestyle, a slight hint of negative action can trigger a counter-response, to an extent to saving one's life. Thus its extremely important to have negative actions in control, that could potentially damage someone's image far more than a positive action could mitigate.

Thus, I believe the best way to teach is not just to praise the positive actions but also to not ignore on the negative actions. A teacher, may it be a parent or professional, should give equal if not more attention to the negative actions of an individual.