Teachers salaries should be based on their students academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reason and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Teaching is one of the noblest professions out there. Proper teaching can have wondrous effects on a students and thus societies future. The premise that teachers salaries should be based on their students academic performance does hold some merit. Although it might actually seem discriminating, according to me it has potential advantages.

Firstly, not all teachers are the same. Teachers differ in their approach towards teaching, their style of teaching, the materials used and not to mention the attitude towards students. Some pragmatic teachers show better results by not just focusing on the material but also on the practicals. These methods bring significant impact on students understanding. These extra miles taken by teachers requires extra effort with added brainstorming. Getting rewarded for these extra efforts is worth it. As when these teachers are rewarded in form of better salaries, it completes a positive feedback loop. Here, better salary as a result of better students performance makes the teacher more likely to makes extra effort to teach students.

Furthermore, as the teachers are aware of the rewards based on students performance they would make sure to follow the method with better results. Following the footsteps of another successful teacher or developing on top of it by inventing new method of effective teaching. This would not just promote creativity in teaching but also a healthy competition among professors. From a personal experience, working in an industry I've seen people go extra mile for that extra praise or income they can have. Thus promoting others fellow contributors to follow the same resulting in overall growth for the team. Its very natural to be competitive and therefore the proportional reward to the result promotes healthy attitude.

Finally, Consider a case where all of the teachers have same salary. A teacher who does not deliver impactful lectures vs a teacher who puts sweat and tears into it for students to get every bit of infomation. The teach who has worked a lot harder would surely make a note of no better reward than the other teacher. This would and will degrade the enthusiasm of the teacher and thus his effectiveness. Similarly, what if in a competition all the prize money is same, irrespective of secured position. The person winning a 5th prize has the same reward as person winning the 1st prize. The efforts that was put into being the champion would not be adequetly awarded. The participants would just aim for the least prize as its same for everyone. Likewise, in a teaching profession, the teachers analogous to participants in a competition should have salaries analogous to rewards depending on their performance.

Therefore, I believe the better the result the better the reward should be. The teachers working hard which is reflected in the performance of their students should also compliment their pay. This is all fair in this competitive world.