Fossil evidence indicates that the blompus--an extremely large, carnivorous land mammal--inhabited the continent of Pentagoria for tens of thousands of years until its sudden decline and ultimate extinction about twelve thousand years ago. Scientists have determined that the extinction coincided with a period of significant climate change and with the arrival of the first humans. Some scholars theorize that the climate change so altered the distribution of plants and animals in the environment that the food chain upon which the blompus depended as irretrievable disrupted. Others contend that predation by humans is the more plausible explanation for the rapid population decline.

Write a response in which you discuss specific evidence that could be used to decide between the proposed explanations above.

This passage offers two alternate explanations for the disappearance of an ancient mammal, without suggesting which is more likely. The first explanation is that climate change disrupted the food chain, and the blompus was a casualty of this disruption. The second proposed explanation is that humans hunted the blompus into extinction. To decide between the proposed explanations, the fossil evidence could be studied to determine whether the blompus has survived previous periods of climatic change, whether humans hunted the blompus, and whether the extinction of the blompus corresponds geographically to the spread of humans across the continent.

The first evidence that could be considered to determine which explanation is more likely is whether the blompus has survived previous climate change. The Earth’s climate has changed periodically over time, passing through ice ages and warmer periods. These climate changes do cause extinctions of some species. If in the tens of thousands of years during which the blompus inhabited Pentagoria the climate has been stable, up until a sudden change coinciding with the blompus’s sudden decline, this would support the theory that climate change is the culprit. On the other hand, if the blompus has weathered substantial stages of cooling and warming in the past, this would suggest something else may be the cause of the extinction, such as human activity.

Secondly, the fossil record should be examined to find whether there is evidence that humans hunted this mammal. For example, if blompus bones are found in caves where the first humans on Pentagoria lived, or blompus skeletons are discovered with spearheads embedded in them, this would show that humans were indeed predators of the blompus, and could have contributed to its extinction. However, if no evidence is found showing that humans preyed on the blompus, this would weaken the argument that human predation caused the blompus’s extinction, and bolster the theory that climate change was the cause.

Third, the extinction of the blompus across Pentagoria should be compared to the spread of humans across the continent to help determine which is more likely. Presumably, climate change would occur across the entire continent at the same rate. If climate change caused the blompus extinction, scientists could expect to find that fossilized blompus skeletons disappear from the fossil record around the same time everywhere in the continent. On the other hand, humans arrive in a continent at one place and penetrate into the rest of the continent over time. If human arrival caused the blompus extinction, then the disappearance of the blompus from the fossil record in any given location in Pentagoria should correspond to the appearance of the human presence at that location.

In conclusion, more evidence is needed to determine which explanation is more plausible. Both climate change and human predation are known to cause animals to go extinct. To understand which caused the blompus extinction in Pentagoria twelve thousand years ago, scientists should consider whether the blompus managed to adapt in previous periods of climate change, whether humans hunted the blompus, and the chronology of blompus extinction and human spread across Pentagoria.