GRE Argument Essay 19

The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

“Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a five-hundred-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read costs only $500 per employee – a small price to pay when you consider the benefits to Acme. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course.

The personnel director recommends a decision to the president of the acme publishing company which requires all the employees in the company to take the easy read speed-reading course. And he relies on some evidence which is: some companies after taking this course have increased their productivity, one graduate employee was able to read a 500-page report in 2 hours, and another graduate was promoted from assistant manager to vice president. This might seem logical at first glance; however, the personnel director has relied on some pieces of evidence that are invalid.

First and foremost, the writer did not provide any concrete evidence that other companies had increased their productivity because of the speed-reading course. The companies might be developed from another perspective like hiring some skilled employees, or experienced ones. It would be more convenient if the director gave more detail about those companies how they developed like was it all because of the easy read courses, or how they were before the course.

Second, the director got impressed by the guy who read a 500-page report in 2 hours. But one should never see the outside story; the writer did not consider what if the guy was already good at reading fast, and the course was just a little improvement. Also, the other one who got promoted; was he promoted because he increased his reading speed rate? or was it because the other vice president resigned his position? There are many other possibilities for how he took that position. This point would sound good if the director gave the rate of employees who got benefited from the course, not just one or two-person without mentioning the detail about them. Then this recommendation might be a wise choice.

Finally, the director mentioned that the cost of the course would be little compared to its benefit, which is 500$ per employee. This is not a genuine decision without knowing what the company is missing: maybe the acme company needs another skill to increase its productivity like management skills, time management skills, co-working skills. If the director gave us a report showing that the company employees do not have fast reading skills and it affects the company’s productivity, then this recommendation would be a lifesaver for the president of the acme company.

However, speed-reading is a good skill for employees and no one can deny that, but to improve the company itself, one can consider its big picture. The director did not mention any company issues that are due to a lack of not reading fast enough. And he based his decision without proper evidence.