Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Given the attractive benefits green tea has to offer, one can understand why someone would want to maximize these benefits by drinking a much green tea as possible. The argument, in advising users of green tea to limit their consumption to 2 cups a day, definitely shows the concern the author of the argument has regarding green tea consumption of people. However, it is based on unreliable sources of information and inaccurately represents the findings of the study it is based on.

It is stated that caffeine is known to have side effects but the argument provides no quantified information about the amount in which caffeine can cause those side effects. The arguments bases its claim on a study which found that the side effects of caffeine occur when more than 3 cups of green tea is consumed. We can not be sure if the subjects of the long-term study were representative of all humans. Caffeine tolerance of different individuals differ. Therefore, more than 3 cups of green tea might cause the side effect in one person and might not in another. Meanwhile, someone else might start to see the side effects just after having 1 cup. This stringent generalization of more than 3 cups is thus wrong and the details need to be in terms of amount of caffeine rather than number of cups for an average caffeine tolerance level.

Additionally the terminology of "3 cups" in the conclusion of the study is too vague to be a reliable parameter. Cups come in varying sizes depending upon multiple factors like usage, location, etc. Cups made for tea are generally smaller than coffee cups. Cups in certain countries are made bigger than other's. Again, more information about the cup dimensions used in the study is needed.

Finally, the arguments concludes, based on the conclusion that 3 cups is the limit, one must drink no more than 2 cups of green tea to avoid side effects. Here we can clearly see the inaccurate representation of a study that is unreliable to start with.

As we can see that the heart of the author of the argument is at right place but he/she fails to make a convincing case against over-consumption of green tea due to lack of above mentioned evidence.