Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

History offers us a plethora of individuals like Albert Einstein, Adolf Hitler, etc. who have left a lasting, exemplar legacy. Not without any detractors, these legends changed the course of history prodigiously and created a permanent place for themselves in the golden pages of history. Seeing their visions through regardless of the criticism and literal or metaphorical costs is what made them achieve the greatness we attribute to them today.

No doubt that having great ideas and visions in the field of interest is of paramount importance, but if the person lacks the dedication and determination requisite to see it through, however groundbreaking the vision is, it will never materialize.

Along with determination, patience is also a significant, defining characteristic of the people who have left legacies. Regardless of which field someone is working in - be it science, literature, politics it doesn't matter - criticism is an integral part of change. Mr. Einstein had numerous critics for his theory of relativity, the cricket team captain M. S. Dhoni faced a lot of backlash for his unorthodox ideas regarding team formation. Today we all know the profound effect Einstein's theory had on the way we understand the universe and how Dhoni's plans paved the way for the Indian cricket team to win the world cup in 2011.

These examples show how important it is to stick to your ideas and beliefs if you truly believe in them. However, Dhoni and Einstein did not succeed only because they were adamant. As much as being proactive helped them achieve greatness, not being sclerotic and being agile to changing circumstances also did. They wouldn't be the legends they are today if they stubbornly stuck to their ideas without evaluating the criticism.

Therefore it is clear that one needs to be determined toward the goal and evaluative towards criticism to leave a lasting legacy.