he council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument asserts that imposing a restriction on development of farmland into residential areas would lead to increase in housing prices in Maple County, on a premise that is formulated on precedent examples of Chestnut County and Pine County. Although, the rise in housing prices in Chestnut County is modest and are observed over a shorter span as compare to those in Pine County. One can infer from this underdevelopment and discord in evidence that the argument is questionable.

To begin with, coherent data from other county are missing in the argument, the current conclusion drawn by council would have been more sound provided the information of rise in residential property prices from other places where the population, area and available land was similar to Maple County. The given examples as stated earlier lack this coherence and are unfurnished.

Moreover, the reasons for rise in price in the Pine county are not clear, the inflammation could have been a result of private investments from residents and firms in that area. Expecting a rise in price, these firms may have acquired the available housing and now, predilection to skimming profits of their investment, are selling the houses on increased rates. Answering that residential property is not being withheld for purpose of making profit would have made the conclusion more plausible.

On the other hand, the data from Chestnut County is too vague to be able to draw any results. The mild rise in property cost over a decade can imply any of the debated conclusions. The rise in the Chestnut County has not been properly analogized to the situation of other county, they might as well have faced similar rise in prices of houses without any ban on development of new residential areas, thus the limned conclusion appear biased. Eliciting that other county have not reported an increment in residential property would have made the conclusion impartial.

Conclusively, the argument is well debated and council could have drawn a more compelling conclusion if the above mentioned questions would have answered.