The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting

The council has made a prediction that if the development of existing farmland in Maple County is prevented, the housing prices will increase significantly. The author has also provided reasons and some instances to support and also to negate this prediction. When one perfunctorily goes through the lines, he may find the arguments and the claims to be reasonable. But thorough scrutiny shows that they are based on unsupported assumptions and vague terminologies, which in turn make the claim incredible.

The author has provided two cases of other towns to clarify the effect of preventing existing farmlands' development. One of them is about Chestnut County, which supports the proponents of the measure. It tells that the housing prices increased modestly since the measure was put into action ten years ago. Other is about Pine County where the measure was carried out fifteen years ago and whose real estate prices doubled in that period. This incident supports the opponents of the measure. But much information regarding these two instances has been left unclear by the author. There must be various reasons behind these changes which should also be specified in the argument, and how much was their significance in doing so, which, if included in the argument, would have made it more credible.

There are numerous reasons behind the fluctuation of real estate value, such as location of the house, its neighbourhood, the current status of economy, etc. These factors play a major role in deciding the level of increment or decrement in housing prices. In the two cases made by the proponents and the opponents, there must be various other factors playing a major role in deciding the outcome, which are not specified by the author, such as, likely development of new malls and better public amenities in Pine County and no growth in job prospects in Chestnut County, leading to emigrating citizens. These factors must also have been included in the case studies of the two towns to get a more accurate picture of such measures.

The author should factor in the current scenario of Maple County into his argument, which has deliberately been left out. Factors such as the current economy of the citizens, if it is in an upward or downward trend, or the rate of growth of job openings, or planned future developments of public amenities and places should be researched about and stated to make the argument more sound.

The prediction made by the council seems to be made randomly by skimming through two past cases in two different counties. No robust reasons have been provided behind the prediction and many important factors have been left out by the author. To make the prediction more plausible, well researched past cases along with a detailed current scenario of Maple County should have been presented. Otherwise, prophesying that preventing the development of existing farmland in the county will lead to a significant rise in housing prices is completely unreliable.