"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

Leadership in government, industry or other fields requires skills that are not so common. These skills are not instilled in a person through cooperation. They are learned by competing among their peers. Cooperation is necessary for the growth of an organization, whereas competition is important for personal growth. Leaders must showcase their skills learned by competing to prove they are better than their peers and better suited for leading.

Competition is necessary for human society in today's world, without which, there is no sense in performing extraordinarily. No sense of competition leads to an acceptance of mediocrity in every field. When a person is working in a team to achieve a particular common goal, cooperation is definitely beneficial. But if the person cares about his own life goals and aspirations, competition is crucial for achieving them. The society must maintain a balance between the two while preparing young people for leadership.

Whenever there is a lack of competition, there comes a lack of motivation. If people are not competing to outshine, there is no need to work hard. In schools, it will be sufficient for everyone to pass each class by getting just passing marks. In colleges, taking up basic and easiest subjects and passing the same way will be standard. In jobs, getting the job done on the date of the deadline in a non-impressive manner will be accepted. There will be no sense of awards or promotions. No competition will lead to a dull life. So the focus of society should also be to promote healthy competition.

Life gets its aim and aspirations through competition. Getting ahead of one's peers provides oneself confidence and a feeling of satisfaction. Competition is a crucial part of evolution of not only humanity but of every other species in this world.

While preparing young people for leadership, society must instill in them a balanced sense of cooperation and competition. But it should also make sure that the youth understands the importance of healthy competition. After all, a life without anything to compete for will be absolutely morose.