Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands were extinct. Previous archaeological findings have suggested that early humans generally relied on both fishing and hunting for food; since archaeologists have discovered numerous sites in the Kaliko Islands where the bones of fish were discarded, it is likely that the humans also hunted the mammals. Furthermore, researchers have uncovered simple tools, such as stone knives, that could be used for hunting. The only clear explanation is that humans caused the extinction of the various mammal species through excessive hunting.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the argument, the author concludes that humans are the reason for the extinction of mammal species. The above conclusion is based on findings of archaeologists that humans in Kaliko Island used stones and knives. However, while the conclusion drawn might hold water, it rests on several unwarranted evidences that if not substantiated would dramatically undermine the persuasiveness of the argument. Hence, the author must provide the following three pieces of evidences.

Firstly, the author suggests that since archaeologists found remains of fish bones, humans were the reason for hunting mammals. However, the discarded bones of fished might not been due to the hunting of humans. Maybe there were animal species which hunted and ate those fishes and discarded the remains. For instance, animals like bears and birds might have hunted and ate fishes and they might have discarded the remains in different parts of the island. Therefore, the author did not consider the other possible species which might have hunted the fishes. Also, it is ambiguous that if people perhaps hunted fishes, it doesn’t mean that they also hunted mammals.

Secondly, archaeologists discovered that humans used tools in Kaliko Island. However, that doesn’t mean that humans used those tool for hunting. There is also a possibility that they used knives to build houses and for cooking. At that time, humans didn’t have the supply of cement and large machines to construct houses so the only material to build houses were leaves and branches. Knives can be used to cut the leaves and stones might have been used to tame the branches to make it flat. Thus, the author didn’t give information of how well people were educated to build houses.

Thirdly, there are many reasons for extinction of mammals. One of the reasons would have been climate change or maybe global warming. If that were so, then humans wouldn’t have been the reason for the extinction of mammals.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed with several unstated evidences. If the author is able to provide the above three pieces of evidences and perhaps conduct more research on human’s lifestyle, then there is a possibility that humans would have been the reason for the extinction of mammals.