Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7 000 years ago and within 3 000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species extinctions becau

The author concludes that changes in the climate and environmental factor must cause the species extinction. On the basis of the following evidence like origin of homo sapiens about 7000 years ago within 3000 years long mammals species had become extinction; Then there was a new area containing the bones of fish mammals and a human cannot have hunted the Mammals. But author does not pay attention to the information that if there is any environmental or any climate changes that affects other animals too.

To begin the argument, Firstly, authors say that within the 3000 years large mammals that had been lived in forest of Kalico island had become extinct by arrival of the homo sapiens. But here the author only mentioned large mammals but what about the small mammals; The human in kaliko island interacted with the mammals, encountered the habits, competed for food with them or even for with them. so, logically prove that there is a contact between animals and humans.

Secondly, author stated that there is a Numerous sites were bone of fish had been discovered but no larger mammals bone had been found. Conversely, the large mammals bone was used to make self-defense weapons. However it could be possible that the bone of large mammals would have been discarded in other locations such as the ocean. Further, there is a possibility that some area of the island still left to discover And somehow bones of large mammals are burned into ashes. Here author did not provide these informations. So, the arguments fails to prove that there is no large mammals bone in the island.

Lastly, author indicates that human cannot have hunted the animals. However, Food chain cycle of ecosystem tells that all animals and humans are dependent on each other for the food. Maybe there is a chance that humans are omnivores and they are dependent on the carnivorous. Here author did not specify any information about human lifestyle. So, the entire argument falls apart.

In conclusion the author has a number of unstated assumption that had to be addressed. substantial evidence would help strengthen argument. so ,the argument is not cognitive enough and holds no water.