Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species' extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that climate change or other environmental factors aided in the extinction of most large mammal species that lived in the forests of the Kaliko Island. The author comes to the conclusion on the basis of no human contact with the large mammal species. While the argument may be plausible, the argument is not cogent enough since the author states a number of unstated assumptions. The assumptions must be evaluated in order to determine the validity of the argument. If the assumptions prove unsubstantiated, then the argument is unwarranted and completely falls apart.

Firstly, the author assumes that humans had no significant contact with the large mammals. The author relies heavily on the evidence that the bones of large mammals could not have been found in numerous sites where fish bones have been discarded. Perhaps, humans did have contact with large mammals by burning the forests that ultimately destroyed their homes and aided in their extinction. On the other hand, it could be that humans hunted large mammals and discarded their bones by creating tools and jewelry that were sold to remote locations.Therefore, if the evidence were to be true, then it would go against the assumption. The author would strengthen the argument by providing evidence that no other factors of human contact would have been possible, such as archaeological investigation on the tools used by humans in the area and whether deforestation occurred by investigating the soil of the island.

In addition to the first assumption, the author implies that the location of where fish bones have been discarded is also the same location where the bones of large mammals have been discarded. However, it could be possible that the bones of large mammals could have been discarded in other locations, such as the ocean or other land sites farther from the Kaliko Islands. Perhaps, the bones have traveled through the oceans to other islands or lands over time. Additionally, the bones could have disappeared by the practice of burning the bones into ashes, which humans may have used for combustible purposes. Therefore, if bones were discarded by other means, then the assumption would be false. The author must provide evidence that no bones have traveled to nearby areas or are in other locations where archaeological sites have not checked. If not, the argument fails.

Lastly, the author assumes that climate change and other environmental factors have caused the extinction of large mammals. However, the assumption has no basis to fall on. It could be possible that the extinction of large mammals were engendered by humans through matters of deforestation or through matters of mass hunting. The evidence of humans aiding in the extinction of large mammals could be supported by further archeological investigation on other archaeological sites that have not been investigated. If this were to be true, then the assumption would be false. The author must provide further evidence showing that climate change and other environmental factors are the only reasons for extinction by ruling out the confounding factors. If not, the entire argument falls apart.

In conclusion, the author has a number of unstated assumptions that need to be addressed. Substantial evidence would help strengthen the argument by providing future archaeological investigation in sites that have not gone through an exegesis in order to eliminate confounding factors. If not, then the argument is not congenital enough and holds no water.