Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

A majority of the time, information regarded as factual pieces must always be taken with skepticism since it is bound to be proven false. Therefore, I agree with the claim and the reason behind the claim that information should be mistrusted since factual evidence can be inaccurate and misleading. However, I can only agree to an extent since the claim states “any” piece of information, which is a little too extreme. Historical events and modern day information have proven to show that there are pieces of information we should not doubt and will not be inaccurate.

Many fields of studies are paradigms for delivering information that can be proven false. It is a general rule that any research generating conclusions in any field of study will never be one hundred percent true. In the field of biology, for instance, the structure of the atom has continuously been proven wrong and updated. While we do have the modern day structure of the atom composed of protons and neutrons, scientists admit that the structure is not completely accurate since no one has been able to identify its structure due to its invisibility. Likewise, research in the field of psychology is rifed with conclusions that have been mistrusted and proven false. For instance, Sigmund Freud concluded in his studies that women are the only people who are capable of experiencing hysteria, which he stereotyped them for their histrionic behavior. Modern scientists, however, proved him wrong since both men and women are capable of experiencing hysteria, especially in traumatic situations. Furthermore, studies have shown that information should not be regarded as true and must be proven false.

Additionally, in our modern day use of technological media, information regarded as true should not be trusted since they are apt to be proven false. The augmenting use of media, such as Youtube and Instagram, are prime examples of how false information is delivered. With regards to Youtube, many influencers have created video blogs that are highly opinionated and use factual information that may not be true, such as conspiracy theories. On the other hand, Instagram is filled with users who are capable of posting and reposting information that is false, such as how a famous person has died, but actually turns out to be fake news. Furthermore, media coverage can deliver misleading information, in which people should mistrust before accepting what is presented at them.

While it may be true that information should be mistrusted since it is capable of being proven false, I can only agree to an extent with the claim and reason since “any” information is too extreme. History and modern day events of delivering information have proven that we should not always be dubious to information that actually turns out to be true. For instance, in the field of science, Galileo’s studies on heliocentrism and statement of the earth not being the only living structure in the universe was mistrusted, however, turned out to be true. On the other hand, information posted on technological media today turns out to be true, such as advertising the current precautions society needs to make in order to minimize spread of the coronavirus. Social distancing practices and maintaining personal hygiene has been proven to be true in the past and present for situations that target the immune system and protect the well being of citizens. Therefore, not all information needs to be regarded as mendacious since not all information is concluded as false.

Furthermore, it is true that we must place doubt on information that is apt to be proven false. Fields of studies and even our current day use of media has shown that information can be misleading and proven fallacious in the eyes of society. However, not all types of information are insincere, as mentioned in historical and modern day events. Hence, I can only agree with the claim and the reason behind the claim to an extent.