In the preceding argument, the author states that when people arrived to Kaliko islands has caused large mammals to die within 3000 years from their arriving , the conclusion of the argument is based on the following explanations. Firstly, he states that people have used to hunt large mammals as a sources of food, then the researchers found fish's bones were discarded. Further, he claims that there is no evidence of using stone knives as a tool to hunt the large mammals. Hence, in the first glance it may seem plausible. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of explanations that could undermine the value of the argument.

To begin with, the author readily states that the main cause of large mammals extinction is people over hunting. On one hand, the reliable explanation is, even there is a positive and concrete relation between human arriving 7.000 ago and extinction of large mammals, this does not necessarily indicate a conspicuous relation between the two events. In deed, further illustration decrease the food sources could be the main cause of the sharp decline on mammals numbers due to strong competitions between human beings and animals that indicate scarcity of food sources. Or the second explanation the climate has changed and affected the vitality of mammals and it could be there is not any coping mechanisms to counter the situation.

Secondly, he claims that scientists has found fish's boons, this piece of fact could explain that people used to eat fish as main food and there is no evidence indicates extinction of fish. Moreover, he states a vague relation between extinction of mammals and availability of fish's bones. This could be a good explanation that human beings were not the cause of the extinction. But it could be a good sign that both of them have used to eat fish and with human beings were coming there was a competition led to mammals extinction. though, there is no evidence such as mammals bones indicates that people was the direct cause of mammals extinction.

Thirdly, he concluded that the researchers could not find sharps tools such as stone knives. Thus, the plausible explanation that they did not have the basic tools to hunt large animals. In deed, the author explanation is vague and requires further illustration. Additionally, the best explanation that people were not the cause of extinction because simply did not have the basic tools to do that.

In conclusion, the argument fails to mention one key factor. Namely, all the previous facts are equivocal. In sum, without complete information and explanations the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate.