inoculations against cow flu
The argument presents a case of inoculations against cow flu, which could save many lives, but also have small
chances of killing a person; thereby making their use impermissible.
The first asssumption of the argument is that the people who might die as a result of the inoculations have
nothing in common. It is possible that some environmental factor or a pre-existing genetic condition could make
the inoculation doses lethal and lead to their death. A study on deaths due to cow flu inoculations would bring
more evidence to the table on whether the deaths are random or connected. If they are connected, the inoculations
could be given to the people not affected by the specific factor or condition. This would help save more lives
and also reduce deaths due to inculations.
It is also possible that inocultions provided very late i.e. in the later stages of cow flu, could be lethal
while those provided earlier would definitely save the patient's life. Again, a study on the deaths due to these
inoculatios would help clarify the situation.
The argument also doesn't quantize how small the probability of death due to these inoculations is. If this is an
extremely remote possibility, say 1 in 10 million, then such a risk could be undertaken to potentially save the
lives of millions of others affected by cow flu. No medical proceedure or treatment is without risk. Denying
those affected by the ailment, a chance to get proper treatment would not be prudent. On the other hand, if the
risk of death is 1 in 5, it would be best to lay off the treatment and look for safer alternatives for treating
cow flu.
To conclude, the argument makes several assumptions. More studies and evidence would allow us to beter determine
if inoculations against cow flu should be routinely administered or not.