An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author argues that the government of Tagus should take necessary steps to promote the new type of millet in order to save people from the deficiency of vitamin A. Stated in this way, the author failed to mention several key factors on the basis of which the argument needs to be evaluated. To justify the argument the author further mentioned that people of Tagus are already using it as food so they won't need to take much effort to adopt the variety of millet. However careful scrutiny of the argument provides little credible support to the author's view. Hence author's argument is considered as incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author failed to mention whether people of Tagus are already having a deficiency of Vitamin A or not. Since many people are already using millet as food so it would be inadequate to consider them as deficient in Vitamin A. Moreover, it would be necessary to know more about the people who not eating millet food and lacking deficiency in Vitamin A. If that is the case, then instead of wasting money on other variety of millet, the government should promote Millet food instead of the new variety in order to save their money as well as saving people from lack of deficiency of Vitamin A.

Furthermore, it would be necessary to know the exact usage of millet. If the usage is already low, then the government should not allow farmers to produce it in higher quantity since it makes the farmer's efforts futile for production and also responsible for wastage of government's money. Thus, if the author had provided the use of millet, it would make the argument more cogent.

Finally, the author wouldn't consider any other cheap option for the treatment of vitamin A deficiency. Since it is a known fact that various fruits and vegetables contain a high amount of nutrients which could easily enhance the vitamin A amount in the human body. If that is the case then it would be a waste of time and money in producing the new breed of millet. Hence, if the author had considered some other treatment for lack of deficiency of Vitamin A, the argument would have been more adequate in order to analyze it.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear concrete evidence, perhaps by the way of a reliable survey about the number of people who are deficient in vitamin A in Tugas. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know that why the author had chosen to produce the other variety of millet in a higher amount even knowing that it people are already using it as food.