An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The given argument has a lot of questions to be answered that are not given here. And it makes this argument unwarranted.

The main question comes about how this organization came to know that there is a lack of Vitamin A among people. If they surveyed this thing what factors have they considered in the survey as well as what was the survey size and who were included in the survey are not mentioned here. If the organization provides sufficient proof that there is a deficiency of Vitamin A among people. Then the government can take this issue seriously and do whatever possible things to eradicate this situation.

Secondly, the argument is not mentioning about the quantities of vitamin A in both types of seeds. It might be possible that the engineered millet has only a 10% high quantity of Vitamin A as compared to the previous one. And it won't help much to solve the problem. If it is given the quantities of Vitamin A in both of the millets then Government could decide, how much money they should spend to provide subsidy for the crop and how much they should spend on promoting and creating awareness about this crop among people.

Lastly, the argument is not providing the proof of what would be the farming cost of this millet, how much water should this crop required and all other parameters related to the agricultural science related to this crop. If it is not given then how government should decide how much money should they spend on subsidy and how farmers would decide what are they supposed to do to grow this crop. If these questions are not answered and if farmers start growing these crops up, it might possible they might end up spending a lot of money and get poor results.

One more thing, there is no mention of the taste difference in both of the millets. IF it is similar, people won't find much difficulty in adept this new crop. But, if the taste is weird then people might not adept it.

In conclusion, this argument has many unanswered statements that must be answered before working on the mentioned implementations.