An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, the author stated that, an international organization has developed a new breed of millet which can solve the vitamin A deficiency for the impoverished people of Tagus. While one might take this as a victory for the Tagus government, there are issues which needs to be discussed.

Firstly, the author stated that, the new breed of millet are costly. But it didn't give us a number. Although, it is also stated that, the farmers will be given subsidy; will the subsidy be enough for the farmers of the Tagus? Proper data should be presented to evaluate the situation. Otherwise the whole plan can crumble.

Secondly, we are talking about a breed of millet which can eradicate the deficiency of vitamin A. But no testing data is presented here. As the millet is costly, the government should do more research before introducing it in the large scale.

On the other hand, Just the people are poor, that doesn't mean that they only have vitamin A deficiency. This new breed of millet might solve the vitamin A problem, but what about the other vitamins and minerals they need to be healthy. Also it is not practical to just force people to develop new eating habit. The people of Bangladesh are adapted in eating rice three times a day, just like newyorkers who like hot dogs. People can't change their eating habit overnight. So the government should be meticulous before taking this decision.

The author proposed a fantastic idea for the betterment of the indigent people of Tagus. But before taking any decisions further regarding this issue, the argument should provide more data regarding costs and the nutrition situation and if possible the government should should research on the products which won't change the countrymen's food habit.