An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency

The author here makes two claims. First, people of Tagus will readily adopt the new variety of the engineered breed of millet high in vitamin A. The author supports this claim that by presenting the fact that millet is already a staple food of people in Tagus. Secondly, the government will be able to combat vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus. The author eventually, supports this claim by presenting the fact that an international development organization has engineered a new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A and also, assuming that subsidies provided to the farmers to grow this new engineered breed of millet which is more expensive than the conventional breed will absolutely convince them to alter their crop selection. However, I find that both the claims made by the author are unsubstantial and require a close scrutiny.

Firstly, the author claims that people of Tagus will readily adopt the new variety of engineered breed of millet high in vitamin A. However, it can happen that people of Tagus are reluctant enough to make an alteration in their staple diet and hence, deny from adopting to a new breed of millet. Or, it could be that the market selling prices of this new breed of millet are higher owing to the richness of vitamin A. As a result, people of Tagus find the new variety of millet quite expensive and therefore, cannot afford to buy such an expensive crop. Also, it could be that the conventional breed of millet though deficient in vitamin A maybe be rich in some other nutrient which is essential to the body and hence, altering their present breed of millet will compromise the intake of those nutrients and make their body deficient in those nutrients. Therefore, assuming that millet is a staple diet of the people of Tagus the author cannot claim that people of Tagus will readily adopt this new variety of millet.

Secondly, the author claims that government will be able to combat the deficiency of vitamin A among the people in the impoverished nation of Tagus by support from an international development organization which has engineering a new breed of millet rich in vitamin A. Also, the author presents that as this new breed is more expensive than the present ones providing subsidies to the farmers will convince them to grow this breed. However, it could happen that the soil and weather patterns of Tagus are not suitable for cultivation of this new variety of millet and hence, farmers hesitate to grow this new breed of millet. Or, it could be that despite of subsidies provided by the government to promote this new breed of millet farmers find that the profit margins in growing the new breed to be minimal and hence, growing a new breed of millet to be futile. Also, the engineering of a new breed of millet high in vitamin A does prove that it can overcome the problem of vitamin A deficiency unless it is developed successfully and made feasible to be grown. Maybe, it could happen that the new breed of millet is difficult in digesting thus, impeding the absorption of vitamin A among the people of Tagus.

Finally, the claims rest on certain doubtful assumptions. First, that people of Tagus will readily adopt the new breed of millet. Second, the newly engineered breed of millet rich in vitamin A will be developed successfully and making it feasible for production. Third, providing subsidies to farmers will absolutely convince them to cultivate the new breed of millet.

In sum, the claims are unsubstantial as they rest on a number of assumptions. To bolster these claims the author should verify that the newly engineering breed of millet is practically feasible to be produced and also, providing subsidies alone are justifiable to convince the farmers to alter their selection of crop production. Also, the author should verify that the people of Tagus will readily adopt this new breed of millet by preparing a pricing strategy for the new breed of millet crops. All these verifications will provide a strong hold to the claims made by the author.