An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet. Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The people of tagus deserve a satisfactory solution to the problem of vitamin A deficiency and although this new breed of millet is a step in the right direction, there are some very serious questions that need to be raised before we can readily accept this solution and integrate it into the tagus community. A few of these the things we would need to further investigate would be the similarity of the millet to the previous "staple" millet, the use of the new millet compared to the old millet, and the willingness of farmers to make this new millet, regardless of the new subsidies.

To begin, we need to address how similar this new millet will be to the millet the people of tagus are used to. For instance, if we knew that the new millet now had a more metallic taste because of the ingredients included to make it high in vitamin A, the people may dislike this new variety and continue to use the previous millet option. another thing to consider is if this new millet had a different consistency when cooked. it is possible that the people of tagus used the previous millet when cooking certain recipes and now the new millet would not be possible to use the same way because it was too soft, for instance. perhaps the most important factor when comparing this millet to the previous millet would be the price. if the residents of tagus cannot afford this new variety, no one will decide to use it. if people decide not to use the new millet, then they would not have the chance to benefit from the new formula.

another thing that was not considered in this argument was whether or not this millet would need to be taken in conjunction with anything to be effective. For instance, many medications and vitamins we have in the United States suggest taking the supplement with food or water. we are not aware if there is a food or water shortage in tagus that may reduce the effectiveness of the new millet. another possibilites is that maybe the millet must be prepared in a way that the tagus people are not familar with or do not have access too. For instance, maybe they need to heat the millet to a certain temperature before they ingest it but they do not have the resources to heat the millet in such a way. if any of the above were the case, the new millet may not work in the way it was originally designed to work.

Finally, this argument would not be effective without knowing if the farmers would be willing to produce such a millet. this new millet may go against the moral or religious beliefs of some of the famers because it was engineered to be high in vitamin A and it did not come from a natural source. another possibilities is that regardless of the increased subsidies, the way they must now produce this millet will damage their land and it would not be a worth-while investment for them to ruin their property in order to produce it. perhaps this new millet may even be radically more difficult to produce and the farmers don't want to bother making it. if the farmers are not willing to create this millet, than the tagus people wouldn't have access to it in the first place.

although this newly engineered millet may be a solution to the problem of vitamin A deficiency, we would need to consider the above questions, and many more, before we could implement this solution. there are many reasons this solution may not work in this community; it would be best to consider such factors before continuing with this plan.